WordPerfect contains a fail-safe so that if you close WordPerfect and you have modified a document, it prompts you if you want to save the changes. If you select No, whether on purpose or by mistake, all changes to the file are lost. If WordPerfect closes abnormally and the WordPerfect timed backup feature was able to create a backup, than next time you launch WordPerfect, the system will prompt you to open the backup file. Please note than once the document has been saved sucessfuly, the backup file is erased from the backup folder and the timer for the timed backup is reset. This feature will not store backup copies of your saved documents.